SQLPam's Blog

October 2, 2011

Tally Code Camp – I was there but not really

Filed under: SQL Saturday — sqlpam @ 2:48 am

Today I had the pleasure of speaking at Tallahassee Code Camp – but I was unable to attend.  Huh?  I led the meeting via Go To Meeting.  It is probably my least favorite speaking mechanism – but it is fast becoming a blessing for those in more out of the way locations.  I have to say that today’s session was my favorite online session I have led to date.

We got a late start because there were issues with the sound in the room – but once we got started it glitch free – at least as far as the technology.  I made a few boo boos that were easily recovered – but Go To meeting and the related technology work flawlessly once we got going.

The big thing for me was that the audience actually actively interacted.  This is something I have missed in all of my previous presentations.  I was able to get a feel for the how the audience was reacting based on the questions that were being asked.  I would still prefer to be there in person – but this was a nice second choice.

I want to thank Maureen Jugenheimer for offering the remote opportunity to participate in an event I was not able to physically attend.  She made sure the technology worked and actively moderated the session.  I look forward to meeting her in another week or so at PASS Summit.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

