SQLPam's Blog

November 24, 2010

Thanksgiving musings

Filed under: Community — sqlpam @ 2:34 pm

It’s that time of year when we are more aware of what we are thankful to have in our lives.  Family, health, a roof over our heads and food on the table are the basics.  I am grateful for each of these and as the years go by – I am even more aware of how precious each can be.  I have a loving husband.  After watching Mom loose Dad, I cherish him more.  I have a 14 year son that is turning me grayer on a daily basis – but as I think of him leaving home – I almost (note almost) look forward to seeing what bucket of trouble he falls into next.  As I get older, my health is less of a given and more of a gift to protect.

As I think of the roof over my head, I think of the skills that allowed me to earn the money to put that roof there.  I am grateful that I happened into the programming trade and eventually into SQL.  The skills have allowed me to expand my mind and meet challenges that many could not overcome.  This makes most days on the job, at least as I go home, satisfying.  I slayed the dragon for the day and I usually learned something new in the process. 

But more importantly of late is the community I was introduced to by being part of the trade.  The people in this community really amaze me.  These are techie people – where growing up I was told techie people are cold and insensitive, they work with machines – not people.  And yet I have watched this community open their hearts and wallets to assist fellow developers that have been ill and unable to care for their families.  I have watched as they celebrate the joys of fellow developers, snickering and a little jealous at new love or commiserate with sleepless nights of a new mom.  I have watched as they lose all fear of embarrassment and get up and belt out a tune – having the time of their lives.  SQL community has become family of sorts.  I am grateful.

I recall when I was much younger my grandmother asking me if I considered why Thanksgiving was when at this time of the year.  I was stymied.  I grasped at an answer with “the harvest had just come in and food was plentiful” – something I had heard in a description at school.  She smiled and said that had something to do with it.  This was the time of the year when most of the chores were indoors because of the weather.  People had a chance to sit down and think.  They were thankful thoughts that heavy muscles were not as required.  They still had work – but it was not the back breaking, harvest related labor required in the heat of the summer. 

We no longer have that down time.  Our toils are less strenuous, but usually more stressful.  I still think we need to take the time to think thankful thoughts and show our appreciation to those we are thankful to have in our lives.  This is not for them – but for us.  It is a means of fighting self-pity and depression.  It is hard to be either if you are busy being grateful.

So thank you to all who touch my life.  You give me a reason to get outside myself and enjoy what is around me.

Have a Happy and Safe Thanksgiving!!

2 Comments »

  1. [...] Shaw (Blog | @PamShaw) Her fourth post, on her new blog, is Thanksgiving musings.  Pam talks about the being grateful about the things she has and protecting them more as time [...]

    Pingback by Blog Round-up – What Are You Thankful For? | Strate SQL — December 10, 2010 @ 7:54 am | Reply

  2. [...] Shaw (Blog | @PamShaw) Her fourth post, on her new blog, is Thanksgiving musings.  Pam talks about the being grateful about the things she has and protecting them more as time [...]

    Pingback by SQL Server Central — December 13, 2010 @ 5:44 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 726 other followers

